Barriers to a Healthy Life

Living a healthy life isn’t always an easy endeavor. It requires self-discipline, proper planning, determination, and more. Each and every day you must chose to live this healthy lifestyle. You can’t allow a bump in the road take you off your goals. With that being said, these are a few things that prevent me from living this healthy lifestyle 100% of the time.

I live a very active lifestyle with changes in my schedule being a constant threat to my plans to live healthy. It might be due to a travel plan or a last minute request from a friend. These hiccups in my daily and weekly routines can throw me off, and make me take shortcuts like skipping out on a weight lifting session or grabbing a McDouble out of the drive-through while I am on the road.

This active lifestyle can also be a burden on my body. There are several days when all of my energy has been drained and I choose the easy way out. With tough, physical football practices and the constant wear and tear on my body, it can be tough to have the desire to cook a healthy meal for myself.

Lastly the lack of money in my bank account prevents me from having the proper opportunities to be healthy. When I get out of college, I won’t have access to the student rec center, and I will have to find a gym. I will also have to buy my own food. I won’t be able to rely on the student cafeteria either. Balancing my budget to cover my basic needs, wants, and healthy lifestyle won’t be easy, but it’ll worth it.

Leave a comment