The Illusionists

Body image is a touchy subject that can question how advertisements and the media can portray certain body types. I never really thought too much into how the commercial world distorts our own body image. Any time someone brought up body shaming in advertisements, I always laughed it off saying they were reading too much in to the situation. The Illusionists changed my perception a little on the subject.

The body shape perception was an on and off again point that I could agree with, but the issue that bothered me the most was the skin color changing creams. I found it disturbing that advertisements could influence people to want to have a different skin color to feel more beautiful. From there, I was able to launch deeper into the argument. There are certain aspect of the body that can be changed naturally with diet and exercise such as body size. With that being said, anything that can be changed not so naturally through the use of artificially created chemicals and surgeries should stop being pushed in advertisements.

There comes a point where people lose their identity in the pursuit of being beautiful or fashionable. Walking that fine line is dangerous to society as well as the individuals who will stop at nothing to feel good about themselves.

Leave a comment