The State Semi-Finals

 

As the clock ticked to zero on the scoreboard at Heroes Stadium in San Antonio, the emotion within me swelled. I almost began to cry right then and there. I turned back to my sideline and saw the coaches, players, trainers, fans, ballboys, cheerleaders and photographers celebrating in their own way. After going through the line of handshakes with the amazing-and salty-players from Hallettsville, I ran back to my dad who I hugged with a tight squeeze. That is when the blockade of my attempted manliness fell. The tears finally fell. They weren’t tears of defeat that our opponents felt but tears of joy, for my dad and I are going to the State Semi-Finals for the third time in four years.

crybaby

It’s funny how my freshman year, when I played in my first playoff game, my dad told me, “Enjoy this game. This may be the only playoff game you ever play.” Here we are three years later and I have played in a total of eighteen playoff games so far. Knowing all of this in that moment, I couldn’t help but shed a tear or two. I have been blessed to play with many great players and to be coached by great coaches. With this being my final year in high school, I get one last shot at my ultimate goal of a State Championship.

My dream of a State Championship seemed hazy at the beginning of the year. Coach Bo, our head coach, offered a job to my dad here in YT and after weeks of debating, we decided to make the move. Our family felt as if it was the move that God wanted us to make, so we took a leap of faith and did it. Our faith was surely tested, for we started the year of with a losing record of 2-4. We even lost to Hallettsville who we faced during district play. We went into our bye week and refocused. I talked to some of our players and said, “Alright guys, this ain’t gunna be easy. We need to practice hard and get on a roll.” I can honestly say that I never lost faith in my God or my team. I just knew that we were going to turn it around. It is safe to say that we did, for we are on an eight game win streak.

But now we have a matchup against a tough team hailing from Malakoff, Texas, who defeated Cameron Yoe, a team who has played in the State Championship several times the last few years. We know it won’t be a cake walk, and though we have a dream and a desire to play in Arlington for a State Title, we have to take care of business this week first. The seniors who I am with are loving every minute of this experience. They have yet to taste the feeling of a Semi-Final game, while I have already tasted it twice before. I can only imagine the excitement they feel for this wondrous accomplishment.

I am not sure if God brought me to Yoakum to compete at this level. Everything goes according to his plan, but one thing I do know is that I will trust in the Lord through this game and for the rest of my life. I am proud of this accomplishment, but I know that all the glory goes to Him.

4 thoughts on “The State Semi-Finals

  1. Carolyn Nelson

    Just ouch! What a precious testimony! One every parent who loves the Lord wants to hear from their child…or grandchild. I am so very proud of you, Ethan….the good kind of pride…and of your parents. God bless you and I will be praying for God to have his way in this next game. “Uncle” Dusty is proud of you all too. He talked about this last win. He and Brandy will be there watching you and Colt 45 and the Bulldogs. Love and prayers headed your way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicely said. I was at the game last Friday. I was, however, on the Hallettsville side. I have to say that I was truly amazed at the level of awesomeness that you played with. My daughter works for the
    Co-op at YISD and takes her students to PE with your dad. When I told her about #40 and the level of enthusiasm and the level of respect you played with she replied “that must be the Owens kid. His dad is a real stand up man.” I grew up in Yoakum and graduated from Yoakum High. I’ve been in Hallettsville since 1992, but you sir, make me proud of being from Yoakum. Good luck against Malakoff!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. June Owens

    Anyone who knows you, Ethan, knows that you wrote this right from your heart. No matter how many athletic or academic accolades you receive, and I know those are already coming in, the accomplishment that you make as a man of God and a Christian who knows “in whom he believes” is the greatest reward of all. Thank you again for sharing with the world your heart. I love you, MeMaw

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment